Skip Navigation

DECEMBER 7, 2020 ATHLETICS UPDATE

 

The Mills' administration and the Maine Principals' Association have pushed the start of regular winter sports practices to January 4, 2021.  They are allowing skills and drills/conditioning with masks, distancing, and no head-to-head competition from now until then provided that the schools' county is color-coded "green".  The color codes are set every two weeks based on statistics such as the number of active cases, rate of new daily cases, etc.  As of Friday, December 4, 2020, Androscoggin County remains "yellow" so all co-curricular activities are suspended.  Therefore, we are unable to have any team activities.  The color codes will be reviewed again on Friday.

One sport where competition is highly unlikely is indoor track as the field houses are owned by colleges, and they are not allowing high/middle schools to use them this year.  And, restrictions on indoor gatherings make meets impossible.  As an alternative, we are looking to offer Nordic (cross country) skiing which will be coached by our track coach, Dan Campbell.  Coach Campbell has previous experience with Nordic skiing.  If this is something that you are interested in, please sign up on-line at Athletics Sign-Up.

Our winter coaching staff is as follows:

HS Boys Ice Hockey   Dan D’Auteuil, Jr. '86   ddauteuil@stdomsmaine.org

HS Girls Ice Hockey   Paul Gosselin '77   paul.gosselin@stdomsmaine.org

Co-Ed Middle School Ice Hockey  Donnie D'Auteuil '95  dondauteuil@stdomsmaine.org

HS Boys Basketball   Josh LaPrell  jlaprell@stdomsmaine.org

HS Girls Basketball   Alexandria Grondin   agrondin@stdomsmaine.org

Middle School Boys Basketball  Randy Parenteau  rparenteau@stdomsmaine.org

Middle School Girls Basketball  Mike Connor  mconnor@stdomsmaine.org

Co-Ed Swimming   Scott Morrison   SMorrison@stdomsmaine.org

(cooperative agreement with Edward Little High School)

Nordic Skiing   Dan Campbell  swimrun1@gmail.com

Feel free to reach out to them with sport-specific questions.

IMPORTANT NOTE: The state has been using color-coded county risk levels to determine the level of precautions that schools should take based on current Maine CDC data.  For school and community sports to be played, counties need to have the “green” designation which Androscoggin County has had all fall up until November 13th.  We have since been “yellow” which would not allow us to practice or play.  The color status is evaluated every two weeks and is due to be updated this Friday, December 4th.  We are hoping that Androscoggin will be “green” and we’ll be able to start practices on time on Monday.  This information is made public via a press release, and we will also let everyone know where we stand.

2020-2021 HS & MS Athletics Sign-up

Please direct questions to John Patrick Yorkey, Middle School Principal & Director of Athletics
jpyorkey@stdomsmaine.org
(207) 782-6911

At St. Dom's, we desire to field champions, but only by maintaining the integrity of our athletes, our school, and our community.  St. Dom's student-athletes have an opportunity to challenge themselves through a variety of athletics and build upon characteristics of leadership and citizenship while cultivating teamwork, self-discipline, and responsibility.

Contact List for Middle and High School Coaches

 

FALL 2020

Boys Soccer    Brady Whetzel '14  bwhetzel@stdomsmaine.org

Girls Soccer   Tyler Shennett   tyler.shennett@portlanddiocese.org

Cross Country   Dan Campbell   dcampbell@stdomsmaine.org

Field Hockey   Abigail Bowie   abigail.bowie@portlanddiocese.org

Golf   Chris Whitney   cwhitney@stdomsmaine.org

Football   Chris Kates   ckates15@gmail.com 

(cooperative team with Lisbon High School)

WINTER 2020 - 2021

Boys Ice Hockey   Dan D’Auteuil, Jr. '86   ddauteuil@stdomsmaine.org

Girls Ice Hockey   Paul Gosselin '77   pgosselin@stdomsmaine.org

Co-Ed Middle School Ice Hockey  Donnie D'Auteuil '95  dondauteuil@stdomsmaine.org

Boys Basketball   Josh LaPrell  jlaprell@stdomsmaine.org

Girls Basketball   Alexandria Grondin   agrondin@stdomsmaine.org

Middle School Boys Basketball  Randy Parenteau  rparenteau@stdomsmaine.org

Middle School Girls Basketball  Mike Connor  mconnor@stdomsmaine.org

Co-Ed Swimming   Scott Morrison   SMorrison@stdomsmaine.org

(cooperative agreement with Edward Little High School)

Nordic Skiing   Dustin Williamson   dustin.williamson@msad52.org 

(cooperative agreement with Leavitt Area High School)

Indoor Track  Dan Campbell  dcampbell@stdomsmaine.org

SPRING 2021

Varsity Baseball   Bob Blackman   rblackman@camdennational.com

Middle School Baseball  TBA

Varsity Softball   Abigail Bowie abigail.bowie@portlanddiocese.org

Middle School Softball  TBA

Varsity Girls’ Lacrosse   TBA

Middle School Girls Lacrosse  Butch Dow  bdowywca@yahoo.com

Varsity Boys’ Lacrosse   Tim Matteson   tmatteson@rsu16.org

Middle School Boys Lacrosse  Allen Hanson  alh71771@yahoo.com

Varsity Coed Tennis   Andrew Girouard '03   Andrew.girouard@portlanddiocese.org

Varsity Track & Field   Dan Campbell   dcampbell@stdomsmaine.org

For more information, contact Athletic Director, JP Yorkey  john.yorkey@portlanddiocese.org  or 207-795-8932.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!